Advice for a beginner

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by rulebavaria, Dec 6, 2017.

1. rulebavaria

rulebavaria Regular Member

Hi all

I've been playing badminton since september so I'm still an absolute beginner. I'm playing only recreationally and this won't change but I still aim to improve steadily if I can.

I have been playing with a basic and cheap Yonex Nanoray 5 for now but I wonder if it's a good choice for a beginner. From what I understand it's a control-oriented racket, head light and with a stiff shaft.

Since my technique is far from perfect I feel that a more head heavy racket that's more power-oriented might be a better choice so that I don't focus as much on putting extra power in my strokes and concentrate on improving my technique?

Is my thoughr process and assesment of the nanoray 5 correct? If so what racket(s) would you suggest? Money is not really an issue since I don't mind investing in a hobby I'm more and more falling in love with but keep in mind that I dont aim to be a pro so I probably don't need the most high-end racket around.

2. Hans van Egteren

Hans van Egteren Regular Member

Hi, when I started back in 2013 I started with a Yonex Isometric Lite.
    This is a even balance racket with flexible shaft en a big sweet spot which makes a great beginners racket without breaking the bank.

rulebavaria likes this.
  3. s_mair

s_mair Regular Member

A racket that I would always recommend to a motviated beginner is a Yonex Voltric 7 (now called 7Neo I think). Medium flex shaft (helps to generate power), slightly head heavy, but fairly light overall. Price is also fair I would say. What I would also recommend to do is to order it directly with a new stringjob with better strings (BG65ti, BG80P, Aerosonic) since the factory strings totally suck and actually make the racket feel a lot worse than it should.