Aya Ohori 大堀彩

Discussion in 'Japan Professional Players' started by Cycril, May 2, 2013.

1. Smautf

Smautf Regular Member

...but she made good in the China Masters, beating Kawakami in 3.

smautf

2. GingerCorslette

GingerCorslette Regular Member

In an effort to further my Japanese, I translated this 2015 feature of her to those of you who are interested. Feel free to correct any translations as I'm still learning!

Take note that rankings stated here apply to the date of the broadcast, about two years ago.
    Comments by me will be on italics.

Inawashiro, Fukushima
    February 28

Aya Ohori (AO) is featured as "Honjitsu no Mirai (Mirai of today) - Monster". The setting is her school, Tomioka High School.

(She sips and empties her Pepsi)
    Staff: 'What kind of gathering is it today?' / 'What is today's gathering about?'
    AO: 'Year-end closing party of the badminton department.'

(AO's speech)
    AO: 'Teachers, all staff members... There was no singles title in senior high school...' (breaks down)

We then get to see her profile and accolades:
    - Ohori Aya-san (18 years old)
    - Height: 169 cm
    - First year player
    - Enrolled in Tomioka High School until March
    - Interhigh Group Championship
    - Two consecutive selections (?)
    - Asia Junior Championship (U19/Under 19) - this was in 2013

Her father is badminton director. We then see the parent-child relationship. Top-left caption says that this home footage took place a year prior.

AO: 'I don't think he's a father. Not a father, but a teacher.'
    Dad: '...'

That spring, she leaves to join a team sponsored by NTT (Japanese telecom company). She begins playing international competitions.
    AO: 'The goal is to win. Each fight/round is important (or taken seriously)'.

Screen:
    'Graduate high school, new start
    With/in my father's watch (my father is watching)
    Aim for victory
    Mirai Monsuta'

Now, we head to Ichikawa City, in Chiba Prefecture.