Help with Stroke Please!!

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Mason, Mar 15, 2018.

1. Mason

Mason Regular Member

Hey Everyone I am fairly new to badminton and just play at our local club. I have a lot to work on but I would like some suggestions on my stoke. I feel like it does not look right, It looks like my follow through is not proper. I am sure that there are many other things with my stroke that needs to be fixed as well. I made a video of some hits during two doubles matches and slowed it down(1/4 speed). If anyone has any suggestions as to what is wrong here and also what would be the best way for me to try fix it, I would really appreciate it. I am the person in the blue shorts and white shirt. I really want to continue to get better at this sport. Thank you in advance for any comments.

If the Video is too slow, I can make on at normal speed or whatever speed is best to critique.

2. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    This angle is hard to give you any meaningful feedback.

1) Contact point is too low on some shots
    2) Looks like you're using a lot of wrist flexion from this angle
    3) A lot of shots look like they're without purpose/just hitting hard

That's about all I can give you from this footage.

3. Obito

Obito Regular Member

Pratice shadow hitting and try to hit it as high as possible. Try practing full swing rather than half swing it will eventually help you to improve your stroke. Most important, you need to train harder on your footwork seems like you didnt hit the bird when it was in front of you. Most of the time you bend over and hit the bird. Without proper footwork, all I tell you to do will be useless.

Good luck !!!

4. Mason

Mason Regular Member