My Shots are so Weak...

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by zizichan, Jan 14, 2019.

1. zizichan

zizichan New Member

Hi. I am a high school student, and I started to play badminton last year in the spring. I guess you could consider me as a beginner.
    The season is coming up soon, and I have realized that I am not improving. I go to bintang (badminton gym near my house) at least once a week, and I play "singles" with my friend (even though I'm not looking into playing in that category.
    For the entire duration of my season last year, I played only mix doubles and girls doubles. Mix doubles is different in my high school-- for it's not like actual doubles at all. Instead, the girls stay in the front the whole time and the guys stay in the back. And so, I feel as if I am really weak. I cannot clear very far (a few steps from the line you serve on), my lifts have the same problem, and I am unable to kill/smash.
    I believe that the problem is my wrist strength (my coach has told me that my form is fine), but could there be any other factors? I've been trying to hit up to the ceiling (people have said it helps with building wrist strength) and just rotating it.
    Please help me!

2. visor

visor Regular Member

Pronation is key. Watch this

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

zizichan likes this.
  3. visor

visor Regular Member

Once you get that. Then whipping action and grip tightening will add even more power.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

zizichan likes this.
  4. BadBadmintonPlayer

BadBadmintonPlayer Regular Member

#

Pronation is the key for strong forehand and backhand strokes! You dont need your wrist.

zizichan likes this.
  5. speCulatius

speCulatius Regular Member

Fixed that for you. ;)

6. DarkHiatus

DarkHiatus Regular Member

I find it hard to believe that your form is "fine" if you are hitting the shuttle from the back to just past the service line on the other side (less than 3/4 court).