Singapore Badminton Scene

Discussion in 'Professional Players' started by Loh, Jul 2, 2012.

1. sen

sen Regular Member

Yes, I studied from Secondary to university there, also worked for a few years after graduation. Almost like Loh Kean Yew, born in other country, spend most of my youth in SG. I have even attended some holiday badminton camp with SBA before but of course I don't have the talent even if I train seriously so I never consider to be full time player.

Yeah, it has been a few years since I last visited singapore, even my last trip only for a 2 day conference. perhaps next year I could go there again

2. Loh

Loh Regular Member

Semi-Retired
    Great, hope you are doing well and keeping fit with badminton. Are you now residing in the US or elsewhere?

3. sen

sen Regular Member

Jakarta for the past 16 years, Singapore is very near

4. Loh

Loh Regular Member

Semi-Retired
    Oh, must be the influence of badminton! Your bahasa Indonesia must be very good by now!

Many years ago, a group of BC friends went to Jakarta to witness the Thomas/Uber Cup tournaments and we had a great time there!

5. EastDevil

EastDevil Regular Member

What job?
    Prize money usually mean nothing much. It should be the endorsements. However, considering that Singapore is a very small marketplace, local players are not attractive to advertisers before they become very famous. Not many of them will be able to economically sustain themselves until they win the World Championships some day. We just need to look at LKY's shirt; there's nothing much there. Not even a bubble tea ad or something. :)

6. sen

sen Regular Member

2008, I had some friends who came from Malaysia and wanted to watch at the stadium but we could not get tickets. I did not watch live. At that time, there was no online ticket sales yet

7. Yoji

Yoji Regular Member