How to hit clean overhead shots (Clear/Smash)

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Ankur Vashishtha, May 10, 2022.

1. Ankur Vashishtha

Ankur Vashishtha Regular Member

Hi,
    I am a beginner and learning badminton. So please go easy on me.

Observations:-
    I observed while hitting smashes on shuttles which are closer to my body (even the straight smash), there is a slice and shots are not clean. And when the shuttles are towards the forehand side, the shots are pretty clean.
    I understand that in order to hit cleaner, the face of the racquet should be perfectly perpendicular/headon to the shuttle at the moment of impact.

Query:-
    1. Is it wrist or the forearm or both which changes the face of the racquet? In the overhead, when elbow is in front we start only with the racquet frame visible from the front and then at the moment of impact, we show the full face of the racquet. Can someone please explain to me the part from 'bringing the elbow front' till the 'impact to the shuttle'. That will help us to understand how to hit very clean shots. I have watched a lot of videos in normal as well slow motion but that particular phase of the swing is very fast and thus hard to understand.
    2. Is this video showing the correct technique?
      How to rotate your wrist for forehand shot EP2 | Badminton Mastery
    References:
    • Badminton forehand grip in ultra slow motion

• [Coach Won's Badminton] #2 How to correctly perform the “Forehand Overhead Swing”

Even here we can see that the racquet is still slicing.

• Badminton clear bio-mechanics - 5 easy tips

Note:- I have included the title of the videos as well if anyone finds the links offensive (spam/misleading)

2. Woesi

Woesi Regular Member

This topic has been discussed many times and there are different opinions. Most people would recommend to not "flick" your wrist on basic overhead strokes but keep it rather locked and use pronation of the forearm and also shoulder/upper arm.