training at home

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by hihaca, Apr 1, 2008.

1. hihaca

hihaca Regular Member

I am a beginner in badminton. I can hit the shuttle fine but kinda lack of power. I was wondering if there is any practices or training I can do at home to improve my clearing and smashing power. Or does any one have tutorials or videos show how to effectively use your body power when hit the shuttle?

Thanks in advance.

2. kubuk

kubuk Regular Member

Student
    Squash racket training is one of the few trainings that you can do at home. Footwork can be done too (not really beneficial when you do not see the court)

3. Dreamzz

Dreamzz Regular Member

you can always train your wrists when you're at home. try using small weights or a heavier racquet, like a squash racquet as mentioned above. or you could watch some matches to learn a bit more about tactics and court positioning.

4. Teppei

Teppei Regular Member

squash racket training really works?
    need to have more money to buy one.

5. riz125

riz125 Regular Member

Student
    i agree with every one but 1 thing i would also like to add to them is that get your badminton racket stand in front of the mirror try swinging it suchas try and do smash, do lifts, do serves etc. trust me wen u lookin at ur mirror pretending to do these you will spot some mistakes some times and you can get that sorted as well. this mirron technique really helped me doing a lot of jump smashes. cas i use to strugle a lot when i am jumping. i use lose control or dont get the smash right or dont use to swing the racket right so. i suggest have a crack see what you think. this is just a suggestion : )

6. Dreamzz

Dreamzz Regular Member

good for you that your place is big enough to practice jump smashing. my flat is tiny!

7. yy_ling

yy_ling Regular Member

Student
    play against the wall,

8. popopi0102

popopi0102 Regular Member

IT in Intel
    you can never win against the wall.....

9. Teppei