Racket recomendation for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Sanbo, Aug 19, 2009.

1. Sanbo

Sanbo New Member

I have been playing badminton for a few months now, and I can do all the basic things, so i'm not a total novice. But I have been looking at rackets even before I started playing badminton and I really don't know what to pick. I have been to stores to look at the selections of rackets. All I can seem to find are not very good rackets. I have always had an eye on Yonex rackets. Muscle Powers 2 and 3 seem to be okay for me. Then again, I haven't been playing long so I don't know weather I am an offensive or defensive player. I have gone out to play several times, and the place I play has mostly Asian players who seem to only have Yonex rackets, which is part of the reason I have had my eye on them. Then again, Yonex seems to make very good quality rackets, however I hear alot of users on this forum saying "Beginners shouldn't get Yonex rackets because they are too pricy." I don't really have a budget, meaning I will buy it even at high prices if it is right for me :). It would help if you guys could steer me in the right direction in a racket selection.

2. canti

canti Regular Member

Student
    It just depends on which yonex racket you have that makes it pricey. You can get a good racket from yonex from 50-90$ easily. I've found that muscle powers are the best for beginners as well as a low end nanospeed. Do you plan on buying on a store near you or buying online?

3. SilverDJ

SilverDJ Regular Member

Consultant
    At this point, it's probably best for you not to invest into something that is too head heavy or head light. a solid, even balance racket, that is on the medium to heavier weight class (2U or U) should be the best choice. I say a little heavier because a slightly heavier weight racket promotes correct and healthy wrist learning and swing motion.