tension loss

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by pompey, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

A great chef knows how to flavour his dishes with a pinch of this or a dash of that. He doesn't use a chemist's analytical balance.
    Similarly, manually pre-stretching may not be nanodyne perfect, yet it is a "flair" which adds value for the customer and need not be made overly complicated for the sake of an imperceptible difference in precision.

However, always willing to be corrected or convinced by your venerable intellect.:eek:

2. Pete LSD

Pete LSD Regular Member

Soul Searching
    GrandMaster Fidget,

Unfortunately, I am not an artistic person. :eek:

3. bsmith

bsmith Regular Member

Engineering software developer www.elitesoft.com
    No matter what measures we take, the string is always "fatiguing" (hey, you would too if you were being pulled on 24/7 at 28 lbs. :D). So like Kwun says it's just a fact of life that string tension drops. This has always made me think that about going with 3-4 lbs. over my desired tension so that after the significant tension drop occurs, the string will stabilize at my desired tension for an extended length of time.

Of course, such an approach would mean the racket is not optimally playable for a number of days and a number of sessions where it would be used just for warming up and hitting around. With enough backup rackets, I suppose this approach could be successfully used without too much bother.

Has anybody tried this and do you think it is worth doing?

4. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

Please make sure you polish it while pre-stretching your string...