exercises for kids

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by lkomarci, Aug 21, 2007.

1. lkomarci

lkomarci Regular Member

if you were coaching about 14 kids on 3 courts, which exercises would you recommend?
    Those are absolute beginners, 11-14 yrs old, I'm one of the coaches on this badminton camp we're having, so I'm trying to make it as interesting as possible for them? I play with them quite a lot, which is interesting for them, but are there any group exercises games which would include both the kids and me? or only them it doesn't matter

#1 lkomarci, Aug 21, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2007
  2. batgirl25

batgirl25 New Member

marketeer
    kids aswell

Hi
    I am new on this forum. I am coaching a few 9 to 13 year olds. I was also wondering if there is a website with badminton exerc. for children (fun)?

I did a few games last year: you probably already know them but here they are: Chinese badminton (run behind hitter) and try to hit objects (smash) with a reward

3. lkomarci

lkomarci Regular Member

yea i know these, that's one of the few I did also with my group. Well, for them probably the most interesting thing is to play with the coach, so you're on one half, and they're on the other. And just like in Chinese badminton, they swap when one of them loses a point against you :D
    As for warming up, there's lots of different drills. Juggling with forehand, backhand, F&B, juggling F, B and F&B with weaker hand, juggling with 180° rotation, meaning that you hit the shuttle high in the air, turn around and hit it again, forehand and backhand. Then put them into pairs, tell them to sit down on the ground and play :), then to try juggling while lying down. Then there's a drill in pairs too, they have to sit down and stand up while playing.

#3 lkomarci, Sep 1, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2007
  4. batgirl25

batgirl25 New Member

marketeer
    Tnx! Goodluck with your camp.

5. Ang3l

Ang3l Regular Member