Poor Coach Behaviour

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Charlie-SWUK, Dec 28, 2014.

1. Charlie-SWUK

Charlie-SWUK Regular Member

N90 sycophant
    I ran into a little problem this evening.

We were playing badminton in an unheated hall, at sea level, while it was 0 degrees C outside. It was a drop in doubles endeavour. One player insisted the red cap shuttle was too slow (Mavis 300), and went and got a blue cap shuttle (another Mavis 300) insisting it was 'faster' and 'better'. The shuttle he got was broken, and the player went back to get another; this time he stopped and talked to the coach. The coach said the same things and stated the medium speeds were the 'right speed' for the hall.

I had tested a Mavis 300 blue, red, and a Victor Gold Champion shuttle (79) before others had shown up, and the blue was definitely too slow.

During the game my arm got sore - specifically the front of my shoulder.

The coach came up to me after the game, and asked if I was a coach. I told him I'm an assistant taking my level 1. To which he responded with 'No chance, your arm is hurting because you play badly and hit the shuttle incorrectly' (edit) 'because it loads your elbow', and then started showing me bizarre techniques, including having your wrist cocked at all times during shots (?), bringing your racket string back and the head up so that the string bed is parallel with your face (?), amongst other things.

He came up to me a total of three times, bragging how he'd coached members of Badminton England, and then finding different ways to call me a terrible player.

He didn't stop, even as I was packing my bag.

This is the first encounter I've had with this kind of etiquette. I kept smiling and saying 'ok' rather than retaliating. What does one do about people like this?

#1 Charlie-SWUK, Dec 28, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2014
  2. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

Exactly what you did: Be polite.