Mizuno Caliber VS Tour (Review)

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by jctai, Sep 26, 2016.

1. jctai

jctai Regular Member

I have never tried a Mizuno racket before. Three weeks ago, the shop I frequent showed me a few rackets he received from Mizuno dealer. Two rackets caught my eyes, Hayakawa's Caliber VS Tour, Okuhara's Caliber REG, because both are in sharp blue paint. Being a fan of Okuhara, I immediately had a dry swing with the REG. It felt just okay, a tad stiffer than my preference. On to the VS-T, feels quicker and stiffness is in my alley. Later only I saw the normal version of VS-T in matte black, yellow decal on the t-head and top head. It was GORGEOUS. The texture of the paint was very nice to touch. In contrast, the glossy paint on the Hayakawa and Okuhara edition are just like any other rackets. After some fiddling around with all the Caliber rackets (VS Tour, VA Tour, VF Tour, REG), made the decision to buy the black/yellow VS Tour. My guess for the their naming convention is V stands for V Rapier Shaft, V-Speed, V-Allrounded and V-Force. I have no idea that REG could mean, regular?

Mizuno Caliber VS Tour specs:
    Weight: 4U at 83 grams (unstrung with original grip)
    Balance Point: 293mm (strung with add-on overgrip)
    String: Yonex Aerobite at 25lbs
    I have played with this racket for about 12 hours, it’s not much I know, for a reason which I will mention near the end of the review.

Initial impression:
    Swinging the racket produce a high pitch whoop and the speed is as fast as a Nanoray 900. Upon hitting a shuttle, I immediately felt that the stability of VS-T is incredible, it almost feels like I’m using a heavy head racket. The racket leans towards Yonex’s hold feeling, it’s something like Arc10 but more repulsive, I like the feeling.

Flat exchange and drive: