Smash timing for beginner?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Jackula, Dec 4, 2016.

1. Jackula

Jackula New Member

Engineer
    I am a beginner badminton player and my partner and I have been getting private coaching from my University's badminton club.

So far we've done about 7 x 1-hour lessons and we've become quite proficient in the sport. My coach says my footwork is really good but one of my biggest weaknesses are my smashes. I can never time them correctly.

When I smash, the shuttle always hits the net, and when I try to hit it a bit earlier it always becomes a clear. Curiously I find it easier to do jump smash, I can get them just above the net most of the time, jump smash just feels so much more natural to me.

My coach says my timing is worse when I smash with the full movement so he has me smashing with only my wrist for now. When I jump smash I do the full motion and it's fine.

Is there a trick to learning smashing? I feel like I can never time it correctly. I don't understand why it always hits the net or becomes a clear. I stand in the same position as I would hit a jump smash, and I feel timing is similar to how I hit a jump smash too.

I use a Yonex Isometric 65 Lt, BG80P at 24lbs.

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Using plastic or feather shuttles? feather shuttles are a bit more consistent.

One thing about badminton is that it is easy to start playing, but the fine skills are underappreciated. Try hitting a thousand or two thousand smashes over a couple of weeks. After that practice, you will start to see a bit of improvement.

3. darkwingduck

darkwingduck Regular Member

Nothing
    Follow shuttle with non racket hand will help you with consistency.

4. Jackula

Jackula New Member

Engineer
    One to two thousand smashes, that's a lot! I think smashes are the most difficult technique in badminton.