String has broken, looking for a replacement

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by Dan663423, Jan 11, 2018.

1. Dan663423

Dan663423 Regular Member

Hi. I am a beginner player and the string on my racket has gone for the first time. So now I am looking for a replacement string. I had the BG65TI string which was the default recommended one by Yonex at 24 lbs. I understand Yonex use this one because it lasts a long time and is known for its durability.

Durability isn't really an issue for me though, if I have to replace the string every month, that is fine by me. I would rather go for a string thats less durable, but a better all round string. Ive had a look at this page http://www.yonex.com/products/badminton-string-matrix/ but it doesnt really help me.

Please can somebody recommend a Yonex string for a beginner without taking durability into account?

2. llrr

llrr Regular Member

Do you want a harder feeling string? Could try BG80. You will either love it or hate it.

3. Dan663423

Dan663423 Regular Member

I have only ever tried BG65TI so I am not sure how different a harder feeling string would feel. Would it be massively different to BG65ti? Any advantages or disadvantages of a harder feeling string?

4. llrr

llrr Regular Member

I think it's mostly a matter of personal preference. With a harder feeling string you have a crisp and "harder" feedback when you hit the shuttle. You may or may not want this feeling. In fact, with strings it's mostly a matter of preference. You just have to try them to decide what you like. Since you have said that you're a beginner player, different strings won't really give you a huge difference in your game, as at that level it's mostly dependent upon your technique (swing, foot work, etc.). Therefore, you might as well try them each time you break a string and see which one you'll like. Once you try a string that you just go "wow", you'll know it's the right one for you.