Replacement for broken Voltric 80

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by RockoR, Dec 2, 2016.

1. RockoR

RockoR New Member

I've been using my Voltric 80(3UG4) for around four years now, but it's completely broken. After using this racket exclusively, I'm looking for a somewhat similar racket, but I'm hoping some experienced racket users can give me some advice on a more suitable racket. Here's some info about my playstyle and what player I want to become:

-I'm not sure of my skill level, but I'm playing varsity badminton for my school in a few months
    -My defense is a bit lacking
    -I play doubles mainly, and singles occasionally as well
    -I smash a lot, and I'm working on that more than anything else(jump smashing)
    -I have no wrist issues with the Voltric 80, but I'm a bit slow with it
    -I have never used a flexible racket, so I don't know how it'll affect my shots

I've been thinking of getting a 4U Voltric 80, but I feel like there might be other options. So far I've only thought of the Z-Force 2, and the Arcsaber Z-Slash. I have no way of getting to test them, so can anyone provide me some insight on how the rackets will fit? I'm willing to change my playstyle a little, so all advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. offbad

offbad Regular Member

student
    this is from my own experience, your mileage may vary--

VT 80 3U is not really ideal for doubles. 4U would help, but there are better options out there.
    the same applies to ZF2, but it is head heavier and is stiffer compared to VT 80. i found i couldn't handle the ZF2 3U, and the 4U is a fun challenge.
    I have not tested the e-tune VT 80

if you're not having any issues generating power with the VT 80, you don't need to move onto a more flexible shaft.