Hitting at the highest point

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Janad, Jun 9, 2019.

1. Janad

Janad New Member

Hello all, I have been playing badminton for about 2 years without prior training. I play with a group of players for fun. We play with a plastic shuttle. We decided to go to some local tournaments and have always ended up losing only winnin a few games.

This had spurred me to get a a coach to training me once a week. The coach said watched me warm up and said I waited for the shuttle to drop not hitting it at the highest point and my technique was wrong as no backswing and follow through.

He said I should be hitting it at earliest I could to gain the advantage including clear, smash and drops. (I'm 6ft2)

Just a quick question in regards to drop shots, if I'm hitting it at the highest point, would it not hang in the air for the opponent to kill with the height I'm hitting it at? Or does it take time to learn the controlling the shot.

I play doubles btw.

I'll be going back to this coach next week as I have learnt a lot with him in one session in regards to footwork and basic striking. Feels like I've wasted 2 years.

2. Rob3rt

Rob3rt Regular Member

I just means you're taking the shot as early as possible. You still can play a downwards shot.

3. SnowWhite

SnowWhite Regular Member

In general, if you hit it at an earlier higher point:
    1, you give the opponent less time since you hit it earlier.
    2, you have more options as you are in a better position to hit the shuttle
    3, you can play it more downward (especially at 6ft2) as you contact the shuttle at the highest point.

There are no downsides to hitting it early. This holds true in the backcourt as well as the front court.