What happens to discontinued racquet molds?

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by raistian, Jan 16, 2020.

1. raistian

raistian Regular Member

I'm looking for a new racquet after years of not needing to upgrade & realise that there's a lot more racquet models currently - almost overwhelmingly so. However the racquets that I like are not in production anymore. This makes me think about racquet production, specifically the moulds.

I'm not an engineer so in my limited knowledge for each new model, a manufacturer (say Yonex) would do R&D (3D models, prototypes, etc) then somehow make the mould. What's interesting here is the shaft & grip are not always custom-made for the racquet model as there are generic shafts & grips; they can be produced by other manufacturers (I think Toray makes racquet shafts). I also remember reading in this forum that grips tend to be manufactured local to the racquet's market so an SP model would have grip made in asia, US in the States, etc. From memory, painting's also done similarly (racquets are distributed unpainted first) which would explain why - for example - an AS model would have better paintwork than SP. Of course not all manufacturers do this, nor all models are produced like this.

That brings me to my main question about the molds. What happens to them after the racquet's discontinued? Are they destroyed or stored in some sort of mold museum? Most importantly (to me) - does Yonex have the ability to create the discontinued racquets? I know that some models are rejuvenated ie. Cab20, Ti10 & AT700. In most cases members here would say every iteration feels different (making some models like 1st gen Ti10 legendary).

I'm hoping there's someone in this forum that's more knowledgable & willing to share with us mere mortals :)

2. Budi

Budi Regular Member

Idk what would happen to those mold as Yonex themself would be the one who know as its obvious its their decision.