How to get better at badminton (Low Intermediate)

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Kevin Han, Jul 10, 2020.

1. Kevin Han

Kevin Han New Member

Hey people, I need your collective advice.
    I have been badminton for 3 years and I am a low intermediate player (23,M):
    -know all basic footwork and strokes
    -have zero power in shots
    -trying to fix my forearm stroke with the forearm pronation motion
    -in-between a recreational player and a weak club player

Frankly, I am not really good at badminton but really like the game.
    I really want to get better at the game but with my current style I see no hope.
    I want to train and exercise to get better but I have no idea where to start.
    I have searched the internet and tried a few small exercises and drills but it has not resulted into much.

Physically, I am below average, the typical unsporty asian guy:
    -can't touch my toes(bending over)
    -barely 30 push ups / probably zero pull ups (not much muscle)
    -1 minute-ish wall sits
    -can't do double under (jump rope) / real slow runner
    -only sport team I was in was table tennis and it is more technique than physicality

I have trouble getting consistent badminton coaching because of my situation of constantly moving around.
    Are there any tips, exercises, training menus that you recommend for a weak/low intermediate player?

I really want to get better and been doing some basic exercises like push ups at home but I cannot imagine much of an improvement when I start to play badminton again.

Thanks in advance and stay safe from this pandemic situation people

2. sijin

sijin New Member

Student and Badminton Player
    Hi Kevin,