Beginner tells - Flick serve

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Magwitch, Aug 4, 2020.

1. Magwitch

Magwitch Regular Member

I'm still quite new to badminton. Yesterday I had a coaching session. We did some work on my serve, and one thing I wanted to work on was to disguise my serve so you can't tell when I'm going to do the flick serve.

When I showed the coach my serves I knew he'd notice a difference in the back swing, but before doing the flick serve he also noticed me tensing up and looking where I'm planning to hit it. I was wondering what might be some common tells in beginners apart from just the swing, or whether they typically give it away just by the swing.

2. LenaicM

LenaicM Regular Member

It might varies upon each player. Sometimes it's a gesture, unrelated to the stroke in itself. Could be tensing up upon performing a flick as a beginner player have less finger power and try to use his/her body arm more, being a bit less relaxed and more straight as to want to create more impact instead of staying relax for a normal serve, etc. It could be so many things really. It's a good serve as long as it remains occasionally, I do love flick serves. :)

Magwitch likes this.
  3. Budi

Budi Regular Member

Every player had habit that they do repeatly & unconciously.
    Like when someone want to flick,
    Some people tend to rise their hand higher (tho its fault, but on club whos gona complaint:p)
    some other with weaker forehand do big backswing.
    Some other had different starting point, i mean when they are about to flick, they hold their racket differently
    Their eye or face tell that they are up to something. You need to be emotionless:confused:.
    Or sometimes they had pattern like 2x normal & then 1x flick.

So, to do flick you have to give less to no hint. Well, you already had a hint from your coach, you do backswing & you give a hint yourself by looking at the direction.