Automatic schedule generation for tournament

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by SimonCarter, Sep 22, 2020.

1. SimonCarter

SimonCarter Regular Member

Hello everyone,

I am an optimization expert and in love with badminton. I live in France and here a lot of tournament organizer have to deal with the following problem :

How do I come from a list of signed in player to a full scheduled tournament over the week end?

I have created a program that is able to generate a schedule automatically (getting as many people as possible in with groups followed by a bracket) based on the number of people signed in in every category. Respecting rest time between matches.

I know this is a common issue in France but I do not know if there are solution internationally (affordable by a club, or free) and if the issue is also present everywhere.

If you are organizing a tournament (or not) and are interested don't hesitate to post here!

phihag likes this.
  2. thyrif

thyrif Regular Member

In the Netherlands we use Tournament planner for most tournaments. It's 60-70 euros per year or something, but also does all the signups and publicises the results you put in the program and stuff.
    https://www.tournamentsoftware.com/product/home.aspx?s=2 (There is also a league version.)

There are also smaller tournaments for lower levels who don't use it, but this is the big thing almost everyone uses here.

The automatic tournament planner in there is pretty bad (doesn't account for breaks all too well with people who play multiple disciplines single/double/mix, despite having some settings for amount of breaks (we usually play everyone two rounds and then a break round)) and leaves a lot of open rounds. But it is integrated into this website where everyone has an account, and discovery and signup is really easy for everyone. So we usually end up doing the schedule manually and put that into the software (that takes a lot of hours).