Recommendations for an intermediate singles player.

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Bigbag, Jan 11, 2021.

1. Bigbag

Bigbag Regular Member

TLDR
    I think I should go for a 3u, stiff, slightly head heavy racket. Brand not too important. Under 90USD. Available in Vietnam.

Wait, I want to read the waffle...

Hi guys, I've been playing for about 3 years, 4 times a week, almost exclusively singles. I've also had weekly coaching session for the past 2 years. I'd say I'm a solid mid intermediate player.

2 years ago I bought my first "semi serious" racket, a flypower 3u, mid balanced, very flex racket. At the time I mostly just bought it for the color but it's been pretty good to me and it wasn't a bad choice for my level at the time.

However, it seems I've hit a power ceiling with it, where despite my improved technique I'm not quite getting the clear/ smash power I would like. Coach says I have a strong swing and therefore I'm losing power to the "very flex" shaft.

Last week I bought an Adidas Uberschall F2, 4u, slightly stiff, slightly head heavy. I used it for 2 sessions and went back to the flypower. It had a nice feel in the shop but on court I couldn't generate nearly as much power as with the old racket. I'm putting it down to it being a lot lighter than my flypower despite being slight head heavy.

Coach recommends an Astrox 88D but that's a lot of moolah to lay down on a racket that I can't test and that is completely different to what I'm used to.

I think progressing from my flypower I should perhaps go for something 3U, stiff and slightly head heavy. I'm also kinda interested in something 4u and very head heavy but perhaps 4u rackets just aren't for me after using the F2.

Budget is under 90USD. Brand isn't important but I'm a fan of Victor, perhaps a bit pricey though. I'm in Vietnam so that may affect availability.

2. speCulatius

speCulatius Regular Member