Help how to defeat this player

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Chard021, Jul 6, 2022.

1. Chard021

Chard021 New Member

I am an all around doubles player but more on the offensive side. Self taught by watching videos and played with more skilled players than me.

This player i matched up with was trained by one of the country's top players. Its the first time we played together. The hard part is knowing his next shot will be, what i noticed is that he has one form to execute either drop, smash, or clear.

I have a really good defense against his smash and i can say that my smash is steeper and powerful than his. My problem is that his drops are very fast and dagger like and really close to the net. Since he has one form, when he prepares his shot i can't really tell if he is going to smash or drop. He leaps and put his hand up extending his arm like a smash, but he then drops.

My tendency is to prepare to defend a smash when he leaps. Then he he does a drop shot so close to the net, and does cross court drops that neither my partner nor i can really chase the shuttle.

Can anyone give tips on what to do

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Make the opponent lift so you get the attack.

Play mid court pushes so the shuttle goes down.

Vary your service return (some players always play to the back court) - play net, mid court push.

ucantseeme likes this.
  3. Budi

Budi Regular Member

If you cant read him then dont read.
    It will just give you bad position while other hand he actually read your reaction. If you move closer to the net he can smash to your body or if you are to close to the net he will do attack clear.

So just dont read & be ready for whatever upcoming shot. The rule simply dont let your opponent read you & if you cant read them, its the more reason for you not to let them read you.

ucantseeme likes this.
  4. BadmintonDave

BadmintonDave Regular Member

In addition to what Cheung said;