I have a problem about my standing position in Single.

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by zzronn, Jan 17, 2006.

1. zzronn

zzronn Regular Member

Hi every body,
    I have a problem about my standing position when playing Single. Iam 17,right handed, and my height is 1m66. As you see,with my "little short" height, Foot work is very important to me.So i have some questions about my footwork that I need your help.
    In the picture, i have 2 stading positions. I am currently playing with the A position. Standing in A, i can get to the net easily,but when being cleared, it's not very easy for me to get the shuttle back .I'm not good at backhand though,so i usually do overhead-shot and i'm often get killed when being forced to do the backhand:eek:.
    I am thinking about changing my position to B, but is it hard to get to the net?( I saw this B position from a boy same age with me).
    I need your help guys:).

Attached Files:

• b.jpg
      b.jpg
      File size:
      38.8 KB
      Views:
  2. jerby

jerby Regular Member

personally I'd think B isn't that wise...a very fast drop would kill...
    But experiement yourself. if it works, do it. But as soon as you see it doesn't work. against a good-drop-player perhaps. get back to A.

Me, I stand ever closer to teh T than in A...but that's because of my length/reach and a "reasonable" around teh head/backhand...

though I ahve had oppoennt against wich I assumed position B...

3. OTFK

OTFK Regular Member

engineer
    I used to have problem reaching the back of the court when the shuttle was clear to the baseline. My problem was inefficient footwork and my ready stand was too wide (i.e. my feet were further apart than my shoulder).
    I correct my stand and drill on the footwork - now I am better.
    I agree with jerby that Position A is still a bit too far back.

4. jerby

jerby Regular Member

as a furtehr note..lookign at the lower part fo you drawing...