mental training

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by dony_X, Sep 17, 2006.

1. dony_X

dony_X Regular Member

hi all. ive already filed my application for a tournament this coming oct 23. this will be my first tournament. i dont really expect to be champion, but if ever i loose i don't want to loose by straight sets with a big margin. i wanna put up a very good determined fight. my problem is, when i first played with good players back then when i was a newb, my knees froze. imagine that. i couldn't move, i couldn't hit. my whole body was trembling. literaly. the whole gym became a freezer. i just don't want that to happen again, of course i don't want it to happen in his tournament. my badminton preparations have started a week ago, but since i have a month before the game, what are the things that i could do to prepare myself, mentally? when you guys were playing your first ever tournament, did you anything special? i just don't want that experiecne to happen again, when you've prepared for the game, but then you become nervous and everything is wasted. any help guys? tnx.

2. Ranmira

Ranmira Regular Member

EEE Student
    First tournament? Do everything you usually do on playdays, make a checklist for the tournament so that you wouldn't forget to bring something essential, like wristbands. ;)

Anxiety is part of the competitive game, and conquering it actually boosts confidence, from my experience. Practice, play, and enjoy.

3. Monster

Monster Regular Member

Don't worry man. I was a little panicky too when I first competed in a tourney. I was thrashed anyway in singles 15-5, 15-3. To quote from William Hung, I gave my best and I have no regrets whatsoever.

4. Thee_Shadow

Thee_Shadow Regular Member

Sales Manager
    Hi,