Stringing experiments

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by silentheart, Oct 9, 2007.

1. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

Dear BCBF Members,

I have notice something interesting. I would like to run a little experiments with your help. As most of stringers know by now, Yonex has changed stringing cross pattern from top to throat to throat to top. I have been stringing both way for the last 2 years now. An interesting pattern shows up. For the same player, same model racquet, same string and same tension, when I string top to throat, the racquet has better playability and string break faster on main vs throat to top last longer but little less control.
    Here is what I suspect.
    When you string from top to throat, it is easier to displace main strings and cross can be pulled straighter during tensioning. This give more up and down on the mains on the top. ie. Better control on the net shots and slice. It also give more movement when smash, more bounce.
    When strung from throat to top, it makes top mains hard to displace during tensioning. This gives definition to the mains and not as good on the slice and net tumble shot. Also, the mains have less movement makes it wear out slower.

These are my observation and theory. Please help me verify them. Thanks.

PS: Master Panda, can help me to test it out for the next week or so? Thanks!:D

2. Mark A

Mark A Regular Member

Interesting experiment, this. There must have been a reason for Yonex changing from head->throat to throat->head, which I had always assumed to be due to there being more strength at the throat for the initial cross stages:confused:.