rope jumping or running to improve my stamina?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by jseto, Aug 16, 2007.

1. UkPlayer

UkPlayer Regular Member

Academic
    Exactly, Jogging + Weights = core fitness + less prone to injury

2. virtualkidneys!

virtualkidneys! Regular Member

The rope jumping is good for stamina but not as good as running, swimming etc

However it does get your feet into the habit of landing on the balls of your feet which increase the speed of your split step

3. darkwingduck

darkwingduck Regular Member

Nothing
    you train wrist too when skipping rope :D

4. virtualkidneys!

virtualkidneys! Regular Member

Thats true:D

Im not one for skipping though, im not very good at it :S

5. AznAndrew

AznAndrew Regular Member

Hm. For stamina, i have no idea, but on a Zhao Jianhua's coaching video i just watched, he said that rope jumping should be good for jumping smashes.

6. stumblingfeet

stumblingfeet Regular Member

I'll clarify what I said earlier. In sports you have both general physical training and sport-specific training. Sport specific training would be anything where you're on a court, you have a racquet, shuttles, etc. General physical training would be any other physical activity.

Certainly, it is important to have a good base of general fitness, which gives you the stamina, muscle endurance, tendon strength and agility to progress well in sport-specific training without injury. Typically, for general physical preparation, "playground" and "strongman" exercises work well. Playground exercises are things like hop-scotch, short sprints, skipping rope, etc. Strongman exercises can be things like car pushing, tire flipping or even calisthetics. One of the key things is that exercise is varied, which keeps you from overtraining any specific exercise. When a series of such exercises are done without any break in between, oxygen use can easily exceed that from running. In addition, the athlete learns how to move.