Am i too late to become a proffesional?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by yeahehehehe, Jul 1, 2014.

1. yeahehehehe

yeahehehehe Regular Member

Hey all,
    It really dissapoints me that i've started badminton quite late. I started badminton on August 2013, but i only started training from a coach in February. I have a passion for this sport, i wish to compete in higher levels and in other countries. Im 13 now and its less than a year of me and badminton. What that surprises me is despite of me starting quite late, i can definitely challenge some local badminton players who started at age 9. They are 14 now. And i can beat some players who played for 3 years. I train every monday wednesday, friday, and saturday. My dream is to be a placer in the World Junior Championships, is it too late? Im quite depressed

Thanks

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    You can only try your best in training and in competitions and keep enjoying the game. :)

3. R20190

R20190 Regular Member

Chartered Civil Engineer
    It's definitely not too late. If you have the talent, support, commitment and dedication to improve, you will get there. There are numerous sportsmen and women that started late in their sports and still managed to get to the very top of their game. John McEnroe is probably the most famous, he was still an amateur until very late teens/early twenties. He then went on to become world no.1.

4. icepilot

icepilot Regular Member

Commercial Manager
    Colin Haughton did not attend a performance centre until he was 15 years old, and he reached No.1 in the English national rankings and attained No.19 in the world.

Never too late to start, train hard and enjoy it.

5. PinkDawg

PinkDawg Regular Member