coaches and etiquettes.

Discussion in 'Coaching Forum' started by kwun, Dec 13, 2004.

1. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    as contrast to this thread:

http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10316

where we discussed if "gamemanship" should be taught, i would like to start some discussion on the opposite, and that is what type of good etiquette should a badminton coach teach new or old badminton players.

badminton is one of the few sports in which participants still behave in a gentlemanly/lady manner. as far as i remember from the early days when i started playing badminton, players whom i have played with always have the most courtesy towards other players. we respect each others line judging decision, we retrieve and return shuttle that falls next to the net, we shake hands and say "good matches" whether we win or lose a game, we don't shout at each other.

and i think for most part, starting players sees the courteous display of experienced players and they inherited the friendly courteous from them. however, more and more we hear stories about players behaving poorly in games. and most but not limited to younger players.

so the question is, what can a coach do help badminton continue to be a truely competitive but at the same time, a courteous and gentlemanly sport? what sort of etiquette should a coach encourage? is it possible to have a explicit list of things that badminton should observe during a match so other coaches and players can reference?

2. 604badder

604badder Member

Full time badminton fanatic, and student
    -Apologizing for shots that hit the body
    -Apologize for tape shots that rolled over in favor of you
    -Shake hands after the match over not under the net
    -Return shuttle to the other side to the player such that they dont' have to scoop it back up

I'm sure there's more, but I've gotta get back to work and just wanted to help get the discussion rolling ;)

3. Dill

Dill Regular Member