Help with coaching

Discussion in 'Coaching Forum' started by stpaulibhoy, Jan 9, 2006.

1. stpaulibhoy

stpaulibhoy New Member

HI I am new to this forum.

I have been playing Badminton for about 5 years now and i have the opportunity to coach kids aged 8-11 next week.

i do not have any formal badminton coaching qualifications however i am going to be sitting my badminton leaders award in march.

the kids i will be coaching are in week 6 so they have some very basic knowledge of badminton.

does anyone have any ideas of where i should start with them? is there any websites with good drills or fun games that i could use with them?

cheers for any help in advance. :)

2. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

Once you have a Leader's award, I encourage you to acquire the Instructor award. The Leader's award qualifies you to assist a coach, but you must take the Instructor award (roughly equivalent to BE level 1) to qualify as a coach.

Until you have your Instructor award, Badminton Scotland will not endorse or insure your coaching activities.

In the meantime -- provided you are adequately covered by some other insurance and responsibility arrangement -- show them the basic neutral "forehand" grip. As soon as you feel they are ready, introduce them to the idea of scoring and playing a game; children love informal competition.

If they are not ready for that, try simpler games. "Pass the shuttle along the net" with netshots; "see how long you and a partner can keep the shuttle in the air". "Egg and spoon" races, but with shuttles and rackets instead.

Contact your county association; I'm sure they will be happy to send you a list of games :)

3. s1nn3r

s1nn3r Regular Member

Qs
    teach them double sommersault power slide smash first.. :D

4. stpaulibhoy

stpaulibhoy New Member

thanks for the help guys.

does anyone know of any good websites that i could use?

cheers.

5. stpaulibhoy

stpaulibhoy New Member

can any1 help? :crying:

6. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member