Help with return of some serves

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by coolshades, May 16, 2018.

1. coolshades

coolshades New Member

i am a beginner and apologize if this post is too amateurish.

i am new to badminton and play doubles. while i know the basic techniques, i struggle with returning two kinds of serves.

the first goes past my left shoulder (i am right handed) almost along the central line and drops behind me, to my left as i face the net, in the corner just in front of the tram line.

i have to use my backhand for this serve and my return is very weak.

the second serve is struggle with is a wide serve to my right that lands in the tram lines.

will appreciate any suggestions.

2. LenaicM

LenaicM Regular Member

What kind of serves do you receive? Low backhand serve, flick serve or forehand high serve? Does the shuttle fly low by the net, low but straight with more power or above you?

3. latecomer

latecomer Regular Member

selfemploy
    Your struggles will disappear once your footwork improve. Without proper footwork,the problems will not go away. You will get to the shuttle faster and in balance and in most cases, back hand are not needed. Every new badminton player has the same struggles that you has, hope you will say goodbye to them.

4. Cesium

Cesium Regular Member

Web Developer
    That's a very common surprise drive serve. Key is to stand lower, so that u can do overhead shot. And then it just comes down to faster reaction and stronger wrist power... that's about it....

5. llrr

llrr Regular Member