Laws of Badminton (Badminton World Federation) (Approved at BWF AGM 15 May 2010)

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by mickey_vun, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. Mikael

    Mikael Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Business
    Location:
    Denmark
    4.3.1 "...or to secure the handle by cord to the player’s hand..." Is my english wrong, one hand, two .....??? :)

    The problem of shifting left/right, is first security, to dangerous to have a racket flying in the air, therefore I it should not be legal IMO!

    Secondly, the higher level you play, speed becomes a more important issue, shifting it simply takes to much time.
    Also it is double work training both arms and different footwork, balance, eye coordinating to make the shuttle precise, make it spin, "cut", tricks, and so forth!
     
  2. omniconzaivai

    omniconzaivai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    computer technician
    Location:
    philippines
    Thank you Sir Mikael for your wisdom,
    Now I realize the trouble that can be cause in shifting racket.
    maybe sometimes in playing specially when speed comes,,
    maybe there a time comes that somehow i can't manage to hardly grip that
    rackets when it shift from my left hand to my right.
    or perhaps the judge somehow will think the possibility that it can occur.

    Thank you again,,
    Have a good day
     
  3. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    An implicit rule to prevent dangerous situations

    .
    I think there is an implicit rule to prevent dangerous situations to occur when a match is being played.

    Therefore, I am sure that an umpire and/or a tournament referee would step in to stop a player incompetent playing with 2 rackets, one in each hand. :)

    On the subject of "breaking our opponent's legs", there is a rule stating that our racket can swing over the net into our opponents' court space (as for the follow-through of our racket swing), but not under the net into our opponents' court space.
    .
     
  4. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Shifting a racket from one hand to another takes to much time

    .
    And it would not be easy to hold a shuttlecock in one hand when getting ready for our Service, when we have both our hands holding a racket each. :)
    .
     
  5. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    I'm sure one can adapt to it, since coaches are already able to hold onto 25 birds in the arm to serve.

    But can you imagine if both teams use 2 rackets per person in doubles? There would be pandemonium with 8 rackets on the court!:eek::D
     
  6. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Compare to Stick-Fighting sports

    .
    Hahaha...... Probably, you have not participated in Stick-Fighting sports before. :):):)

    If one is incompetent using 2 sticks; when one is paying attention to the stick held in one hand and forgetting the stick held in the other hand, one can sometimes hit/injured oneself, instead of hitting one's opponent.
    .
     
  7. Mikael

    Mikael Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Business
    Location:
    Denmark
    lol Monkeys would be great players, holdning rackets with their feet too :)
     
  8. krysser

    krysser Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    @Home
    Well there is allways rule 16.6.4 to prevent anything the umpire/referee dosn't like ;)
     
  9. sulismies

    sulismies Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    I kind of like the idea of monkeys as superior players because of their built-in four-handedness : )

    Possibly, stretching the rules to the limit, you might find a way to attach a monkey to your back. All together you would have a total of six rackets rushing shuttles down to the floor (if you would use your both hands plus the four hands/feet of your pal)). What a perfet doubles net partner!

    I can image the umpire calling: "You should really get that monkey off your back"
     
  10. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    We would need to be careful when we do a jump-smash

    .
    Hahaha...... If we were to attach monkeys to our backs when playing Badminton; we would need to be careful for our monkeys when we do a jump-smash. :D:D:D
    .
     
  11. @n9eL

    @n9eL Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Play Badminton
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Haha, sure the umpire will.
    :D
     
  12. dnoah

    dnoah Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Sales
    Location:
    Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
    When hitting shuttlecock my racket unintentionally hit the net isit a foul?
     
  13. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Yes it is a fault

    .
    Yes it is a fault. :eek::eek::eek:
    .
     
  14. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    But if you hit the net AFTER the bird touches the ground, it's not a fault right? :confused:
     
  15. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,902
    Likes Received:
    32
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    After the rally has ended, you can touch the net

    .
    Correct.

    The rally ends when the bird touches the ground. After the rally has ended, you can touch the net.
    .
     
  16. taneepak

    taneepak Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,526
    Likes Received:
    24
    Occupation:
    Designing and producing quality feather shuttlecoc
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I don't think this is possible because it will take longer for the shuttlecock to fall to the floor than hitting the net following a shot. In theory this can only happen when the player deliberately hits the net with another stroke after the shuttle has fallen to the floor.
     
  17. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    It can happen with a quick sharp tap downwards when the bird is taken a few inches above the net. The bird can travel fast enough down to the ground before the follow thru of the racket hits the net.
     
  18. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    A similar thing that can happen is when the opponent's attempted drop shot fails to make it over the net. As soon as the shuttle hits the net it is out of play, so if your racket touches the net afterwards then it isn't a fault.
     
  19. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    That is a very good point! Had I been more aware of the laws, I wouldn't have lost a point when this happened to me a few weeks ago.
     
  20. taneepak

    taneepak Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,526
    Likes Received:
    24
    Occupation:
    Designing and producing quality feather shuttlecoc
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    This is technically not correct. When the shuttle hits the net it becomes out of play and a fault is called. What happens subsequently, whether the opponent hits or misses hitting the net is irrelevant because all shots after that "out-of-play" point is null and void.
     

Share This Page