legal/illegal serve

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Renkinjutsushi, Sep 7, 2008.

1. Renkinjutsushi

Renkinjutsushi Regular Member

wasn't too sure if i should start a new thread or continue with one that dealt with someone else's problem with a serve.

anyway, there's this guy's serve i've been questioning since 4 or 5 years ago, and i ran into the same guy recently. i discussed it back then with my partner and a few other team members and we're still a big foggy.

so say, a normal serve, a person positions the bird in front of their racquet. pulls the racquet back and goes forward and hits the bird. however, this guy has a significant pause after he moves his racquet back and before he moves it forward to contact the bird.
    the only thing i can consider this 'illegal' with the rule book is that it almost seems like 2 strokes, where, i believe, the serve has to be a smooth motion.
    the pause is so significant that i and some other players i've discussed with in the past, pretty much naturally move before the player contacts the bird. maybe we're just too much of the 'prediciting' players where we anticipate the contact time. i'd say there is a clear 1 or 2 seconds AFTER he moves his racquet back, and before he moves it forward to serve.
    cuz other people's serve would be a smooth motion back then forth and contact. for this guy, it'd be 'back', 'pause', 'forward', 'contact'.
    is this legal?
    if it's still unclear i can try posting a video, does anyone know of a free video hosting site (other than megaupload)?
    thanks.

2. jamesd20

jamesd20 Moderator

Construction
    1-2 Seconds is not that long. I have played a player who waits 5-8 seconds. It seems like an age.

As regards to legal or illegal, providing there is no forward movement after moving back it is not legal. Technically the service motion doesn't begin until the server moves to hi the shuttle.

3. Renkinjutsushi