Opponent says "out" before the shuttle is really out...

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by BadBadmintonPlayer, Sep 4, 2019.

  1. BadBadmintonPlayer

    BadBadmintonPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Denmark
    What happens if the opponent says "out" or "****, out" after his shot and the shuttle goes in? Is this a point for me or for the opponent?
     
  2. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    558
    Location:
    Germany
    The relevant fault that could be committed by your opponent is:
    From your description, it does not sound like your opponent's goal is to deliberately distract you; they're just talking to themselves or in the spur of the moment. Even if there was some doubt about that, per ITTO §6.7, a fault should not be called.

    Therefore, no fault has been committed by your opponent, and the rally goes on. If you let the shuttle drop on the floor, and it's In, then that's a point for your opponent.

    Only if this becomes a regular tactic of your opponent, then they should be faulted for it.
     
    #2 phihag, Sep 4, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2019

Share This Page