Panhandle grip while smashing?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Richie1234, Oct 31, 2017.

1. Richie1234

Richie1234 New Member

Edit: Mods can delete this thread, Ive seen a similar post on the next page. Sorry!

Someone recently told me this. How much will this hinder me?
    Ive been playing regularly for 6-7 months so Im not sure if i'll be able to correct this.

What are your thoughts?

#1 Richie1234, Oct 31, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2017
  2. DarkHiatus

DarkHiatus Regular Member

Hinder you badly.

6-7 months is nothing as far as a habit is concerned.

Advise you get a coach if you want to seriously improve! :)

3. thyrif

thyrif Regular Member

You've just begon, don't worry too much. But yes, regular forehand grip is much better for overhead hits. Also try to pronate your lower arm to gain easy power, no big power from muscles necessary. Start slow and no power, slowly increase.
    And get some training to get better! And for fun!

4. edogaktop

edogaktop Regular Member

Grip is the most important thing in your technique. When you have the right grip, you can hope to develop a good swing; with a wrong grip, you WILL develop a bad technique. Wrong grip will force your body to compensate by adding extra motion (e.g. flexing your wrist) and over time it can completely ruin your game.

If you just started, follow what thyrif said, do not worry too much (other than worrying about your grip!). Even when you play with bad swing, you will still gain a lot like getting accustomed to the shuttle speed, how it bounces off your racket, the length and the width of the courts and so on.

Recording your game and compare how you swing to how the professionals do it will help a lot. I also find practicing swing in your room/garage/where ever helps train your muscle memory. Kinda like how the kungfu disciples practice punching air millions of times.

5. pepe54

pepe54 Regular Member