Racket over the net

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by 12etsam, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. 12etsam

    12etsam Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Canada
    can u put ur racket over the net?
    someone dropped on me and he put his racket over and when i hit the birdie up, it just bounced right back down...
    i hope u guys understand what i mean
     
  2. venkatesh

    venkatesh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    editor
    Location:
    manila
    No. That is fault. That's called overreaching.
     
  3. red_dragon

    red_dragon Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    if the shuttle hits his racket on his side of the net, then its ok. but if it hits on ur side of the net then it is a fault.

    if he has his racket slightly over ur side, and you hit the shuttle, but it hits the net, then its his point (i think). as the shuttle has not touched his racket on ur side.
     
  4. david14700

    david14700 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Wouldn't it be a fault as soon as his racket crossed over the net? I thought the racket could only break the plane of the net on the follow-through.
     
  5. Dreamzz

    Dreamzz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,134
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London & Penang
    you're wrong dave, your racquet is allowed to be over the net, so long as you strike the shuttle on your side of the court.


    13.4 if, in play, a player:
    13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;
    13.4.2 invades an opponent's court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker's side of the net;
    13.4.3 invades an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted; or
    13.4.4 obstructs an opponent, i.e. prevents an opponent from making a legal stroke where the shuttle is followed over the net; 13.4.5 deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures;

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/#13

    i think you owe me a point for one of our previous games!
    :)
     
  6. jafffa

    jafffa Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    So if i smash and go wildly over the net (after hitting shuttle) it's legal? sweet if so cos i always play drops when i can't get enough room for a smash follow through.
     
  7. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    I don't think we're looking at which side of the court the shuttle is being hit...
    i think this crucial point this guy's asking is that whether it's illegal to put up his racket near the net to 'block' returns. I believe the rule states that if the racket's stationary it's a fault. But if it's hit thru the course of a forward movement then it's not.

    But as far as real matches are concerned it's all up to the umpire, and usually it's not a fault.
     
  8. mettayogi

    mettayogi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF bay area
    No.
    Read the rules again. The 'initial' contact of the shuttle should be on your side of court; it's the 'follow through' that's allowed to be on opponent's side. This is to prevent 'active invasion of space'.

    Back to the case in point, he can't put his racket on your side of court, waiting to block a return. He can 'tap' on his side and follow through to your side.

    The rule follows common sense. Each player should have a fair chance to play a shot, which means there should be enough space. 'Enough space' is defined by the net here. The particular maneuver not only violates the rule, it can lead to unnecessary racket clash/breakage (he tries to block, you try to lift when shuttle is close to net). I would warn the other side not to do that again, or refuse to play with one.

     
  9. mettayogi

    mettayogi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF bay area
    Or you can speed up your pace and net kill his slow drop, so this won't occur at all. Watch how LD did this to LCW in 2008 Olympic MS Gold match.

     
  10. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    haha yea i know about that rule. what i meant was the thread starter is asking about a different thing... about a 'block' that is hit in his own court. that's how i interpreted his post anyway:eek:
     

Share This Page