Smash contact/impact point

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Lim Zi Chao, May 28, 2019.

1. Lim Zi Chao

Lim Zi Chao Regular Member

First of all, alil background.

I had been playing badminton for >20 years. Highest achievement was state representative.

I specialize in backcourt, and power jump smash is my forte.

However, I couldn't produce the same cracking sound in power smash and the power/speed of my smashes were not as good as i wanted them to be, and so i explored further.

There were a few research points that i tried to validate and confirm:
    1. Preparation phase: to reduce the elbow vs forearm angle. Refer to photo 1
    Results: no significant difference

2. Supination of wrist before the pronation (no photos).
    Results: worse smash

3. Impact point:
    I had been taught to aim for the shuttlecock in front of my field of view. Therefore, the impact point had always been inline with the center of my body. I had made an extensive analysis on professionals smashes impact point, and i reached to a conclusion:
    For a smash from a good straight lift, the jump and impact point has to be at the right side of the body.
    I had always known that the impact point has to be slightly towards the right (racket hand), but when i checked frame by frame, it turned out to be more than i thought it to be. Refer photo 2 for a comparison of the legend, JJS, vs mine.

And so i tried to adjust, and i made a video comparison side by side.
    *since i couldnt upload the video comparison, i will use the side by side screenshot to show the difference.

The results:
    MUCH louder and crisp sound, and much steeper and faster smash

I'd like to share this finding to the community here, as i bliv most, if nt all players, always hope to find an edge towards a bigger/stronger smash.

Attached Files:

khoai, Mason, LenaicM and 1 other person like this.
  2. Lim Zi Chao