Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Switch from backhand serve to forehand serve...

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by BadBadmintonPlayer, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. BadBadmintonPlayer

    BadBadmintonPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi

    I have now experienced for the second time how in a Mixed the woman in the front stands down suitably for a backhand serve and then switched fast to a forehand serve.

    Is that basically allowed and/or do I have to pay attention to something? Feet have to stay in the same place? Can I reposition myself?
     
  2. Rob3rt

    Rob3rt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    So she was standing and looking like she was about to serve with her backhand and then switched to forehand and quickly served? Did she start the forward movement with her racket while doing the backhand serve?
     
  3. BadBadmintonPlayer

    BadBadmintonPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes and I don't know exactly. I wasn't paying very much attention to how she did it. If her feet aren't moving and she can do this in one move, is it okay?
     
  4. Rob3rt

    Rob3rt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    I think it‘s okay if she hasn‘t started the forward movement of the first serve. Weird nonetheless.
     
  5. BadBadmintonPlayer

    BadBadmintonPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Denmark
    The problem was that I was pretty close to the line and scored 3-4 direct points and the high serve with the backhand wasn't good.
     
  6. Rob3rt

    Rob3rt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    That‘s your problem then. Only stand so close to the line that you can still play a decent reply on a perfect flick serve. ;)
     
  7. BadBadmintonPlayer

    BadBadmintonPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Denmark
    No, that was the problem from the woman. My englisch is not the best.

    If my opponent can't flick serve well, then I'm right on the line. If they do really well, I sometimes take a small step back. But thats ok for me.
     
  8. Rob3rt

    Rob3rt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Well, she fooled you with her forehand flick serve then right?
     
  9. BadBadmintonPlayer

    BadBadmintonPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Denmark
    It was just weird and therefore my question was if there are any rules. Next time I was prepared for it.
     
  10. Rob3rt

    Rob3rt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7,052
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Yeah, I think it's legal. It's probably not even an evil intention. A woman from my club does this when she gets too scared because the receiver is too close to the net. She can't do a backhand flick and suddenly decided to flick so she has to use the forehand. You will not see this with better players however. Backhand serves all the way in doubles.
     
    Saru, phihag and BadBadmintonPlayer like this.
  11. stradrider

    stradrider Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Norway
    I understand you are getting ready for her back serve and while you are waiting for her to serve, instead of serving she starts to change into another type of serve and serves right away while you are getting startled with what she is doing?

    Than you can just raise your hand in order to show that she disturbed you with the change and you need a moment to recompose??? Problem solved?
     
    Saru and phihag like this.
  12. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,801
    Likes Received:
    931
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    you cannot complain about weirdness as long as it is legal. one can prepare for a backhand and serve forehand, prepare for forehand and hit it behind his back, anything, as long as there is one backswing and the contact point is below the legal height.
     
    phihag likes this.

Share This Page