Wearing backpacks while playing okay?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by New_Guy04, Jun 14, 2005.

1. New_Guy04

New_Guy04 Regular Member

I'm a school student, and ever since i ended elementary and started jr high, i had an unusually heavy backpack (reason? i am too lazy to use my locker:p). At first, i barely could hold on the backpack b4 i collapsed my arms and let the thing down.. but after years, now i can't even feel it. And this got me thinking, if wearing heavy backpacks while ur playing can help u gain more speed. It's like playign with a squash racket to strengthen ur arm. After i played with my backpack, i would feel very light and move around the court much better(?) Did anyone have any experience with this? Is it a good idea, or is it just dumb?

2. ants

ants Regular Member

Entrepreneur , Modern Nomad
    It is not a good idea carrying a bagpack and play. You might feel faster and gain speed after you remove ur bagpack. However in the long run , you will are more prone to back,knee and ankle injury due to the weight and the posture while playing carrying the bag.

3. bhatman

bhatman Regular Member

Student
    you could do that by weight training than rather hurt yourself when wearing a backpack while playing. Wouldnt the straps hold you from lunging and clearing?

4. i_two_net

i_two_net Regular Member

Very unsafe way to train. Your centre of gravity is shifted and you are going to hurt your back or stomach muscles badly one day.

5. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    Instead of playing with the backpack, u might only consider doing footwork drill with it. It should be a safer solution. ;)

6. wilfredlgf

wilfredlgf Regular Member

Security Engineer
    I agree with ants there, the risk to your back is quite high with a backpack.
    Try strap on weights that some basketballers use when they train or a simple arm pad. Remember to increase it gradually, not entirely at once.

7. Mag

Mag Moderator

Graphic Designer