Advanced beginner racket recommendation

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by framed, Jul 6, 2018.

1. framed

framed New Member

Hi, I would be grateful to get some racket recommendations. I have been reading this forum and other websites but the more I read the more unsure I am which racket to go for!
    I haven't come across a website where you can search for a racket and filter by spec such as flex, balance, weight etc. the options seem to be only by price, brand.

Anyway some details and requirements.
    • I'm an advanced beginner.
    • I'm playing mixed doubles about 1-2 per week.
    • I will be taking some lessons from September.
    • My Club has indicated I might be asked to play some ladies doubles competition come September.
    • I'm currently using a borrowed racket (a friends old spare one) til I get my own.
    • I've noted this borrowed racket is an extrastiff, 285+/- 5mm Balance, weight 85+3g (brand is not one I've come across)
    • I do find it difficult to clear the shuttle a decent length, even though I'm physically strong.
      tension and strings I think should help here too.
    • Also in fast rallies I find that I dont make the connection (sweet spot) with the shuttle that I was in a position to do so, perhaps slow swing (I do realise that practice/technique and coaching is as important here too)
    Ideal racket requirements
    • well balanced with maybe a very slight tip towards head heavy
    • fast swing
    • required mostly for mixed and female doubles
    • Ability to give a decent shuttle clearance and defend when required - I suppose an all-rounder
    • budget in around €100 / 100 GBP
    • Open to string suggestions
    • from my readings on this site the Arcsaber 7 looked like a good spec, though I don't see them for sale and probably above budget? RKEP PRO 6000 I read as an alternative too?
    • Any other suggestions?
      Thanks in Advance

Lee Haji Wahid likes this.
  2. BadmiCat