After AT800 Off.. now what?

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Dudee, Sep 8, 2006.

1. Dudee

Dudee Regular Member

Hi Guys, I have been playing badminton for a over 3 years now, unluckily, my first racket AT800 Offensive broke last night. I'm not really a fan of updating badminton equipments that's why I need your expert opinion in this..

I can't find AT800 anymore in my area, all I see now are MP and NanoSpeed with 2U-3U and up to 28lbs. My AT800 before is 4U-G3, 18-24lbs and head heavy. Can anyone refer me to a racket which is similar/the same with AT800?

Btw, I know that 4U is lighter than 2U-3U but when I grip these new rackets, they felt lighter than my 4U At800? What's the meaning of 4U-G3?

2. jerby

jerby Regular Member

up to 28lbs? beware of fakes!

3. quik_silver

quik_silver Regular Member

Analyst
    Normally, the recommendation for Yonex racquets are USUALLY 18lbs - 22/23lbs.. Check out, the Yonex website before buying any top-class racquets.

4. hybridragon

hybridragon Regular Member

Student
    4U describes the weight. 4U rackets are usually the lightest, 3U is a little heavier and 2U is the heaviest. Sometimes a 3U racket can feel lighter than a 4U racket because of the head-heavy/head-light/even balanceness of the racket itself. G3, I'm not entirely sure if I remember this correctly, but it describes Grip size. Not entirely sure.

As for finding rackets, try to find ones that strung within the manufacturer's requirements. If you're finding a racket to switch to, and you do find legitamite ones, avoid extremely head light rackets. You won't get used to them easily since AT800 OF is a head heavy racket.

5. Dudee

Dudee Regular Member

Thanks for all the replies.

What racket can you recommend to replace AT800?

Can you guide me to what rackets are head-heavy?

6. Dreamzz

Dreamzz Regular Member

i would say that the AT700 is a good shout then, definitely one of the most head heavy racquets i've used.