Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Racquets clashing and serving

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by redrumnet, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. redrumnet

    redrumnet New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London
    Hello All

    I am a armature badminton player and I gather that some rules are hard to understand

    Here are my questions to all the Gurus
    1. In doubles game, if the racquets clash of the same side players (receivers or strikers) when the shuttle is being smashed, would that consider a fault
    2. When serving, if the shuttle hit the net but passes through to the receiver’s side , would that consider a falut
     
    #1 redrumnet, Nov 25, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  2. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
  3. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Just to clarify point 1. it's not a fault as long as the shuttle is only hit once.
     
  4. redrumnet

    redrumnet New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    London
  5. CrystalChang

    CrystalChang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    KL, Malaysia
    if it doesn't go into the court and it's before the short service line, does that consider a fault?
     
  6. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    regardless of whether it hits the net or not, it still has to be in the service court when it lands (if the opponent doesn't hit it) or it's out... fault.
     
  7. TheBear

    TheBear Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    If by passes through you mean "goes over the net to the receiver's side" then it is no fault.
    If you mean that it literally goes through the net, then that is a fault.
     

Share This Page