Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

return of service rule

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by chris, Apr 28, 2001.

  1. chris

    chris Guest

    Here's a question from a new player.

    When i am returning serve, i stand in the service box. When given a short serve, can i pass the front service line and smash the bird? Or do you have to return the serve from the service box with both feet on the floor inside the return of service box?

    Love this game!
  2. Phil

    Phil Guest

    You can move out of the service receive area as soon as he hits the bird. So if he tries to serve short but makes it a bit too high, you can bound to the bird and smash it down.
  3. May

    May Guest

    Feb 15, 2005
    Likes Received:
    U can, but u if ur feet move b4 the shuttle leaves the opponents hand(smth like that anyway), its a fault.
  4. actually once he strikes the bird, u can move wherever u wan. but don't move before striking the bird. for beginners n most of us who r not as fit as pros, don't stand directly behind the short serve line during doubles. at least stand abt 40cm behind it. if not u will be flicked and slow as u are, its bye bye. for singles u decide urself where ur comfortable to take long serves and short serves. it depends on you.

Share This Page