Upgrade from my old racquet MP100

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by on9desu, Apr 24, 2023.

1. on9desu

on9desu New Member

I recently got back into my favourite sport after I stopped playing for a long time. Just for a little reference, I used to train daily and played in school and local tournaments back in the days. I used a Carlton Kevlar Hi- R racquet when I first started playing and eventually upgraded to the Yonex MusclePower 100 when I started playing more competitively.

The reason I’m looking for a new racquet is because my racquet is 20+ years old. I’d imagine racquets nowadays are much better. I plan on using the MP100 as my backup racquet once I get a new one. The other thing is that because I stopped playing for a long time, my shoulder hurts after the first session. I’m starting to get better now that I’ve had a few more sessions, but it doesn’t help that my racquet is a 2U so it is not that lightweight. I am hoping someone could help me with recommendations of a racquet that is a proper upgrade to the MP100 but lighter in weight. I play mostly singles but also some doubles too sometimes.

2. Budi

Budi Regular Member

20yo racket vs today racket are much different.
    1. No Sledge hammer racket
    2. Let alone 2U, 3U are near extinction.
    3. So overall it will feel lighter.

I guest just go to the store offline, dry swing around all racket there & get anything that you feel like it.

3. Mikkel Press-Stevn

Mikkel Press-Stevn Regular Member

As someone who also came back with a MP100 I would recommend either Victor Thruster F-enhanced or the Victor auraspeed 100x.

4. on9desu

on9desu New Member

I did a bit of research after the post. It is just as you said, there doesn't seem to be any 2U now and 3U is only offer in some models. It seems like 4U is a popular choice nowadays.
    You are right, it is probably best for me to try them in person so that's what I'm planning to do this weekend.
    I appreciate your help!