Last Minute Training?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Eric Lin, Feb 20, 2007.

1. Eric Lin

Eric Lin Regular Member

High School Student
    Hello,

My name is Eric Lin, I am currently a freshman at my high school. Just a few days ago, my school started announcing that they are going to start having tryouts for the team. I am currently 5'7 and I am a male. I have been playing badminton for about 3 and a 1/2 years but I have stopped playing for about a year and am getting back into the sport.

My question is:

Are there any ways or any tips you can give me to improve my game in approximately a week; a week and a half. I know that I won't improve alot but I was wondering if there was anything I could do? Training? Stroke practice to maybe get me more into form so I would be ready for the tryouts. I've been doing sit-ups, push ups and squats for the past few months already also.

Thank you

2. westwood_13

westwood_13 Regular Member

Student
    Best thing you can do at this point is work on your shot consistency. Sine you've been doing some strengthening, you need to work on your specific shots and be able to get the bird where you want it, when you want it. This will allow you to keep the bird in play long enough at the tryouts to wait until your opponent makes the mistakes, hopefully allowing you to win and make the team.

Get a friend and work on every shot, and put a lot of thought into your strategies against other players. Since you're coming from behind the 8-ball so to speak with regards to footwork, speed, cardio, form, and accuracy, your best bet is to stay consistent and outwit the other players.

3. Adone

Adone Regular Member

Student
    hey I play on my highschool team too =). Yeah just play a bunch of games until your back in the groove of things. Worked for me when I didnt play badminton all summer, one day of practice and I was good again ^^.