Need help keeping confidence

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by missbrainy12, Mar 30, 2007.

1. missbrainy12

missbrainy12 Regular Member

Im a 16 year old badminton player and have been playing for some time, but this year I can't keep up my confidence. Last year, as a freshman, I played on the #1 freshman team which was really easy for me..and I was cocky to say the least.
    This year however is different. I moved up and am playing #1 again.. but I keep losing my nerve. It's gotten so bad that once I lose a game I start crying. It weird, I guess that playing harder people has made me less confident in myself because now it's more of a challenge. Like in my last singles match, I lost the first game 9-11 and I knew I could beat her, I'd playedharder opponents and won, but once the score was 1-5, I mentally gave up and tried as hard as I could not to cry right there on the court in the middle of the game. When this happens, my game suffers, I make silly mistakes or just keep hitting to the person so they have an easier game.
    My coaches say that I have low confidence.. but I dont see how it could've changed so drastically in a year. Basically I need help on how to calm down enough on the court so I can focus on my shots and the game rather than my emotions taking charge.

2. Shifty

Shifty Regular Member

Student
    well, i think you need to go into the game fired up, thinking you can beat the opponent, BUT with a lot of hard work. that way, you don't go in thinking it's an easy game, but you also have the will to beat them

3. drowsysmurf

drowsysmurf Regular Member

Make ppl happy O_O