correct smashing technique

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by allan's shuttle, Jul 19, 2007.

1. allan's shuttle

allan's shuttle Regular Member

how to improve the smashing skills,correct position of smashing and to place them and improving its power

2. Phuong

Phuong Regular Member

if u want more power in ur smash it best that u stand and smash, for control and placement jump smash would be the best choice. About the correct smashing technique and form, i dont know :(. I use 3 different kind of form and technique for smashing in various situations (I think none of them are correct -.- since it self taught from watching other people).

3. vin88

vin88 Regular Member

Engineer
    Hello allan and phuong

Don't quote me but I have been taught:

- that the birdie should be roughly 5-10cm in front and above of you when you contact the birdie
    - the racket head should contact the birdie pretty much flat on impact AND follow through with wrist flick - most important or they will sail out of court, not coming downwards
    - the use of your elbow is quite important as well as that is where the power for the smash is generated
    - check out www.ibbs.tv website, very good videos, use proper emails to register, not free webmails i.e hotmail, yahoo etc. This website should clarify all your queries in their videos.

Check out other threads - http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33292
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33633

IMHO, i think that jump smashing should be attempted only after you have an excellent grasps of the technique as the timing of the shot will take some more practice. Agreed that jump smashing will give you better placement and even more power as it is easier to just concentrate on hitting the birdie downwards

Cheers
    Vin88

kwun likes this.
  4. Cloggerz

Cloggerz Regular Member

Student, A levels
    i kno its mostly all about the technique but do weights help too?

5. softwares88