Help on smashing (iM A NOOB

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by lilorio, Apr 3, 2009.

1. lilorio

lilorio New Member

I want to know how to smash cause i see all my friends do it constantly and when ever I either miss or it just goes far. I'm not looking for anything fancy like a jump smash just a regular one. I'm a begginer so i need to know the terms follow through and stuff :p

2. lilorio

lilorio New Member

Oh yeah i dont hit tht hard so if i do the proper technique for a smash but not hit really hard will it still go down fast btw im facing 13-14 year olds. i just want it fast enough so they can't return it. BTW THERE ALSO NOOBS

3. Danstevens

Danstevens Regular Member

Student
    How many times have I had to say this to beginners? Not too much on here but it's far too common in the real world, especially amongst younger players. It's not how hard you hit it, it's where you put it.

As much as it's awesome to have a floor bending smash, it's not necessary. If I was playing you, I doubt I'd need to smash my fastest, a smash at about 3/4 of my normal pace but with plenty of angle and a long way away from you. This is the mantra you should follow, I don't care if you can smash faster than Fu Haifeng, if it's straight at your opponent, they'll simply nudge it back.

Work on good timing and form (ask a coach or look for Youtube videos etc) and speed will come naturally later, despite not ever being as important as placement.

4. Athelete1234

Athelete1234 Regular Member

Student
  5. Deathsticks

Deathsticks Regular Member

6. gamepurpose

gamepurpose Regular Member

unemployeed
    just maybe the right way to smash

well smash is just involve in hitting downward. which mean either using ur shoulder or wrist. Or heck use both. But of course in badminton we all know that wrist is the main point where we always use, smash, backhand, shoo almost everything.