how to generate "boom" sound?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by newb123, Sep 3, 2009.

1. newb123

newb123 Regular Member

i am new to badminton,and is interested on the technique to generate this kind of impressive sound? any pro can teach me?
    Is it affected by badminton and string

2. n3w813

n3w813 Regular Member

Systems Admin
    First of all, certain strings make a better 'pop' sound than others. To generate the sound from your swing, make sure you are hitting the shuttle square on with your racket face, and not slanted like slicing the shuttle. Make sure you snap your wrist when hitting the shuttle.

The more power you have in your wrist, the louder the sound.....I think... :p experts chime in? :)

3. krisss

krisss Regular Member

Mainly technique/strong power creates the sound , a string can create a better sound , e.g Nanogys and when at a high tension - they make a lot of sound!

4. newb123

newb123 Regular Member

nanogys seems expensive,for newbie low tension such as 20-24 lbs~~will it be able to generate "boom" sound?how about BG66,from dans reviews,this string can generate a lot of repulsion
    can u specify the technique??

5. canti

canti Regular Member

Student
    you wont be able to generate a boom sound if you're a noob. Proper form and technique takes years of experience.

6. Joseph

Joseph Regular Member

I try to improvise the "boom" sound by yelling "boom" when I make contact.

Just kidding, but like everyone says...it is mainly done by proper technique. Although even with proper technique, you may not be able to generate a specific "boom" sound. And when you do get to that point, you may not even be able to tell. I can only tell after they've recorded me hitting and then I watch it. When I'm hitting, I don't hear the "boom" sound at all.

7. Jellogz

Jellogz Regular Member

Systems Developer