Easy Question - "Stay on your toes"

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by quacky, Nov 5, 2010.

1. quacky

quacky Regular Member

I have been trying to search for threads about "staying on your toes" and the closest one to what I needed was "Footwork and Toes?" But I guess I'm still confused.

Basically, I played against an intermediate level player in singles recently (I'm a beginner), and he mopped the floor with me. The two things he told me was that my clears barely goes midcourt from base and that I need to "stay on my toes" all the time unless I'm resting. I watched him and he literally does stay on his toes all the time, imagine a zealot from Starcraft or a gazelle in prancing mode.

However, while it is very effective for him, my mind doesn't seem to think it makes sense to be on your toes all the time. But I am the beginner and was floored by him. So anyone explain to me whether we are supposed to hop using the balls of our feet back and forth or do the heel-to-toe walking motion. From what Gollum posted on that thread I linked, I understand that we need a heel-to-toe rolling action to brace for lunges and toe-to-heel landing action on the recovery from jumps. But what about the rest of the time?

Thank you for your answers and experience.

2. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

Those robotic leg enhancements are probably helping him a bit. :D

You're absolutely right to be sceptical. Never assume that stronger players are automatically right about technique. They may be succeeding in spite of a bad technique.

Generally speaking, you want a sensible compromise between going up on tiptoes (bad) and leaving your heel flat on the ground (also bad). Try just lifting your heel slightly off the floor, and leaning your weight forwards a little.