Smashes

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Dorythefish, Feb 1, 2011.

1. Dorythefish

Dorythefish Regular Member

Student
    I started playing mixed doubles when school started and i think because of experiences i had last year im afraid of smashes or something that looks like the guy is going to smash. Anybody know how I can get over this fear? And I dont want to get hit dozens of times to get rid of it nor do i want to keep on thinking that its just a piece of plastic. :) THNXS

2. extremenanopowe

extremenanopowe Regular Member

Chief Coach. The best and still active.
    www.extreme-power.org or xtremexn.blogspot.com
    wear a helmet, shoulder and chest pads. lol.

you and your partner must practice to hit the shots accurately to the back and if possible, keep the shots lower than net height. slowly. ;)

3. visor

visor Regular Member

if hit by the bird, the only part that hurts is the face,
    so if you're up front and it looks like the other side is about to smash, just keep your racket in front of your face!

4. alexh

alexh Regular Member

If you see that the other guy is about to smash, then you need to move back. The further away you are, the less scary it is!

(Your partner might tell you that you're supposed to stay at the front in mixed. But your partner is also supposed to play shots that make it difficult for the opponent to smash. If your partner plays perfectly, then you can safely stay at the front! But realistically, when they make mistakes then you have to look after yourself.)

If it happens too quickly and you can't move back in time, then stay close to the net and duck. If your head is below net height then the net will protect you. (And hold your racket up above the net--you might just get lucky and hit a winning shot!)

And yes, as extremenanopowe says, as your standard of play gets higher you'll have less to be afraid of.

5. Line & Length

Line & Length Regular Member